Cloud documents

Learn how to work with cloud documents

There are two types of documents in Lunacy: local and cloud.

  • Local documents live on your computer. You can access and work with them even when you’re offline.
  • Cloud documents are stored on Icons8 servers. You can access and work with them from any computer that has Lunacy installed and is connected to the internet.

Other advantages of using cloud documents include:

  • Collaboration and file sharing. You can collaborate with other designers over the same project in real time or demonstrate your work to customers. Also, in the observer mode, you can watch what other users are currently doing.
  • Version history. Local files don’t have it.
  • You can always save them as local documents.

Creating a cloud document

To create a new cloud document, do one of the following things:

  • In the menu bar, click File > New Cloud Document.
  • Use the Ctrl+Shift+N (⌘ Shift N) shortcut.
  • On the Home tab, click New Cloud Document (see the figure below).

Opening a cloud document

To open a cloud document:

  1. Go to the Home tab.
  2. In the Recent or Documents section, find your document and click it.

Sharing a cloud document

You can share cloud documents as public or private:

  • Public documents are accessible to everyone with a common link.
  • Private documents are accessible through private one-time links only. So, you’ve got to generate a personal link for every user that you want to invite to your document.

To share a cloud document:

  1. In the upper-right corner of the canvas, click Share.
  2. In the displayed panel, select the type of the document: public or private.
  3. In Anyone with the link, select what other users can do with the document:
    • Edit — full access to the document (except for deletion).
    • Export — users with this access level cannot edit documents. They can only view and export selected objects or the whole project, and inspect the code of the objects. For instance, you can grant export access to developers.
    • View — users with this access level can only view the content of the document.
  4. Click Copy link and send it to the person you want to share the document with.

When invited users click over a shared link and access your document, their avatars show up in the Share panel. You can individually modify their access level, temporarily ban or delete them from the list. Personal settings override the Anyone with the link setting.

Observer mode

The Observer Mode enables you to follow the activities of other users on the canvas. For this, click the user’s avatar in the top-right corner. You will see a colored frame around the canvas indicating that you’re now in the Observer Mode.

To exit the mode, click the user’s avatar once again.

Note: You will only be able to view the user's activities on the canvas. You won't be able to see the interactions on the side panels.

Version history

Lunacy automatically saves document versions after a series of 100 user actions. You can also save versions manually through File > Save to version history or using the Ctrl(⌘) + Alt + S shortcut.

To view a document version history, go to File > Show version history. The list of versions opens in the right panel. Double-click the required version to open it. File versions open as local temporary files that you can save to any folder on your computer and then import back to the Cloud.

Also, on the history panel, you can:

  • Sort out versions by clicking the All, Auto, and Manual buttons at the top of the panel.
  • Rename, open, copy links to, or delete versions using the respective commands in the context menu (see the figure below). To see the context menu, right-click over the required version.

Note: Free users can access up to 30 days of version history. To unlock the full history of any existing cloud file, subscribe to a Personal Cloud plan.

Saving cloud documents as local .sketch files

To save a cloud document as local:

  1. In the menu, click File > Save as.
  2. In the displayed dialog box, define the folder where you want to save the file.
  3. Click Save.

Deleting a cloud document

To delete a cloud document:

  1. Go to the Home tab.
  2. In the Recent or Documents section, find your document and right-click over it.
  3. In the context menu, click Delete.

Deleted documents get to the Deleted section of the Home tab from where you can either restore the document or permanently delete it.

Deleting cloud documents

Note: The maximum storage period of deleted documents for free users is 30 days. Older documents get archived and cannot be restored.